Cantitate/Preț
Produs

Salt to the Sea

De (autor)
Notă GoodReads:
en Limba Engleză Carte Hardback – 02 Feb 2016 – vârsta de la 12 ani

For readers of"Between Shades of Gray"and" All the Light We Cannot See," international bestselling author Ruta Sepetysreturns to WWII in this epic novel thatshines a light on one of the war's most devastating yet unknown tragedies.
World War II is drawing to a close in East Prussia, and thousands of refugees are on a desperate trek toward freedom, almost all of them with something to hide.Among them areJoana, Emilia, and Florian, whose paths converge en route to theship that promises salvation, the "Wilhelm Gustloff." Forced by circumstance to unite, the three find their strength, courage, and trust in one another testedwith each step closer toward safety.
Just when it seems freedom is within their grasp, tragedy strikes. Notcountry, nor culture, nor status matter as all ten thousand people aboard must fight for the same thing: survival.
Told in alternating points of view, and perfect for fans of Anthony Doerr's Pulitzer Prize-winning "All the Light We Cannot See," Erik Larson's #1 NYTbestseller"Dead Wake," and Elizabeth Wein's Printz Honor Book"Code Name Verity," this masterful work of historical fiction is inspired by the real-life tragedy that was the sinking of the"Wilhelm Gustloff"--the greatest maritime disaster in history. As she did in"Between Shades of Gray," Ruta Sepetys unearths a shockingly little-known casualty of a gruesome war, and proves that humanity can prevail, even in the darkest of hours.
Praise for"Salt to the Sea"
"Ruta Sepetys is a master of historical fiction." Elizabeth Wein, "New York Times" bestselling author of Printz Award Honor Book "Code Name Verity"
A rich, page-turning story that brings to vivid life a terrifying and little-known moment in World War II history. Steve Sheinkin, author of Newbery Honor and National Book Award finalist "Bomb"
"Brutal. Beautiful. Honest." Sabaa Tahir, "New York Times"bestselling author of"An Ember in the Ashes""
"
* "This haunting gem of a novel begs to be remembered." "Booklist, "starred review
* "Artfully told and sensitively crafted...will leave readers weeping." "School Library Journal, "starred review
"Heartbreaking, historical, and a little bit hopeful." "Kirkus"
Praise for "Between Shades of Gray"
A"New York Times"Notable Book of 2011
A"Wall Street Journal"Best Children s Book of 2011
A"Publishers Weekly," "School Library Journal," "" Booklist"," and"" Kirkus""Best Book of 2011
The iTunes 2011 Rewind Best Teen Novel
A Carnegie Medal andWilliam C. Morris Finalist
A"New York Times"and InternationalBestseller
Few books are beautifully written, fewer still are important; this novel is both. "The Washington Post"
* A harrowing page-turner. "Publishers Weekly," starred review
* Bitterly sad, fluidly written Sepetys' flowing prose gently carries readers. "Kirkus," starred review
* "Beautifully written and deeply felt an important book that deserves the widest possible readership. "Booklist," starred review
Ruta Septeys has crafted a brilliant story of love and survival that will keep their memory alive for generations to come. Laurie Halse Anderson, bestselling author of"Speak"and"Wintergirls""

Citește tot Restrânge
Toate formatele și edițiile
Toate formatele și edițiile Preț Express
Carte Paperback (3) 4480 lei  Economic 18-24 zile +1173 lei  4-6 zile
  Penguin Books – 04 Feb 2016 4480 lei  Economic 18-24 zile +1173 lei  4-6 zile
  Penguin Young Readers Group – August 2017 5233 lei  Economic 12-23 zile +773 lei  4-6 zile
  TURTLEBACK BOOKS – August 2017 13615 lei  Economic 15-29 zile +1052 lei  11-19 zile
Carte Hardback (2) 10789 lei  Economic 15-29 zile +827 lei  11-19 zile
  Philomel Books – 02 Feb 2016 10789 lei  Economic 15-29 zile +827 lei  11-19 zile
  THORNDIKE PR – 03 Aug 2016 13281 lei  Economic 15-29 zile +1359 lei  11-19 zile
CD-Audio (1) 26206 lei  Economic 15-29 zile +1978 lei  11-19 zile
  Listening Library (Audio) – 02 Feb 2016 26206 lei  Economic 15-29 zile +1978 lei  11-19 zile

Preț: 10789 lei

Puncte Express: 162

Preț estimativ în valută:
2156 2377$ 1847£

Carte disponibilă

Livrare economică 02-16 decembrie
Livrare express 28 noiembrie-06 decembrie pentru 1826 lei

Preluare comenzi: 021 569.72.76

Specificații

ISBN-13: 9780399160301
ISBN-10: 0399160302
Pagini: 400
Dimensiuni: 140 x 213 x 38 mm
Greutate: 0.50 kg
Editura: Philomel Books

Notă biografică

Ruta Sepetys (www.rutasepetys.com) was born and raised in Michigan in a family of artists, readers, and music lovers. She is the award-winning, bestselling author of "Between Shades of Gray" and "Out of the Easy." Ruta lives with her family in Nashville, Tennessee. Follow her on Twitter at @RutaSepetys.


Recenzii

Praise for"Salt to the Sea"
"Ruta Sepetys is a master of historical fiction. In "Salt to the Sea" the hard truths of her herculean research are tempered with effortless, intimatestorytelling, as her warm and human charactersbreathenew life into one of the world's most terrible and neglected tragedies." Elizabeth Wein, "New York Times" bestselling author of Printz Award Honor Book "Code Name Verity
"" A rich, page-turning story that brings to vivid life a terrifying and little-known moment in World War II history. " "Steve Sheinkin," author of Newbery Honor and National Book Award finalist""Bomb"
""Brutal. Beautiful. Honest." Sabaa Tahir, "New York Times" bestselling author of "An Ember in the Ashes"
* "Sepetys excels in shining light on lost chapters of history, and this visceral novel proves a memorable testament to strength and resilience in the face of war and cruelty." "Publishers Weekly, " starred review
* "This haunting gem of a novel begs to be remembered, and in turn, it tries to remember the thousands of real people its fictional characters represent. What it asks of us is that their memories, and their stories, not be abandoned to the sea." "Booklist, "starred review
* "Artfully told and sensitively crafted, Sepetys s exploration of this little-known piece of history will leave readers weeping." "School Library Journal, "starred review
"The inevitability of the ending (including the loss of several characters) doesn't change its poignancy, and the short chapters and slowly revealed back stories for each character guarantee the pages keep turning. Heartbreaking, historical, and a little bit hopeful." "Kirkus"
"This book includes all the reasons why teens read: for knowledge, for romance, for amazing and irritating characters. This novel will break readers hearts and then put them back together a little more whole." "VOYA
"
"Sepetys s...scene-setting is impeccable; the penetrating cold of the journey is palpable, and she excels at conveying the scope of the losses while giving them a human face....[T]his elegiac tale succeeds with impressive research, affecting characters, and keen, often unsettling insights into humans counterposed tendencies toward evil and nobility. Readers will be left to discuss which impulse triumphs here." "The Horn Book""
Praise for"Salt to the Sea"
"Ruta Sepetys is a master of historical fiction. In "Salt to the Sea" the hard truths of her herculean research are tempered with effortless, intimatestorytelling, as her warm and human charactersbreathenew life into one of the world's most terrible and neglected tragedies." Elizabeth Wein, "New York Times" bestselling author of Printz Award Honor Book "Code Name Verity
"" A rich, page-turning story that brings to vivid life a terrifying and little-known moment in World War II history. " "Steve Sheinkin," author of Newbery Honor and National Book Award finalist""Bomb"
""Brutal. Beautiful. Honest." Sabaa Tahir, "New York Times" bestselling author of "An Ember in the Ashes"
* "Sepetys excels in shining light on lost chapters of history, and this visceral novel proves a memorable testament to strength and resilience in the face of war and cruelty." "Publishers Weekly, " starred review
* "This haunting gem of a novel begs to be remembered, and in turn, it tries to remember the thousands of real people its fictional characters represent. What it asks of us is that their memories, and their stories, not be abandoned to the sea." "Booklist, "starred review
* "Artfully told and sensitively crafted, Sepetys s exploration of this little-known piece of history will leave readers weeping." "School Library Journal, "starred review
"The inevitability of the ending (including the loss of several characters) doesn't change its poignancy, and the short chapters and slowly revealed back stories for each character guarantee the pages keep turning. Heartbreaking, historical, and a little bit hopeful." "Kirkus"
"This book includes all the reasons why teens read: for knowledge, for romance, for amazing and irritating characters. This novel will break readers hearts and then put them back together a little more whole." "VOYA
"
"Sepetys s...scene-setting is impeccable; the penetrating cold of the journey is palpable, and she excels at conveying the scope of the losses while giving them a human face....[T]his elegiac tale succeeds with impressive research, affecting characters, and keen, often unsettling insights into humans counterposed tendencies toward evil and nobility. Readers will be left to discuss which impulse triumphs here." "The Horn Book""